The Kosmos Biblioth

Roger E. Eichorn's Blog: Fantasy, Philosophy, and whatever else I feel like writing about

About “Three Roses”


Three Roses is a projected six-book historical-fantasy series set in a world inspired by early-modern Europe, particularly Tudor England.  Its main themes are: time, history, and memory, and how all three conspire to structure collective and individual identity.

To position it in the genre, I would say that Three Roses is Robert Jordan meets Guy Gavriel Kay by way of George R.R. Martin and R. Scott Bakker.

I’ve posted a sample chapter and maps.

Each of the six books is relatively self-contained and should weigh in at around 175-200k words.  They are:

  1. The Anarchy
  2. The Restoration
  3. The Kingdom of Ends
  4. The Dark Backward
  5. The Longing
  6. The Visitation of the Winds



In the world of Three Roses, the Tudor ‘double rose’ (which unites the White Rose of York with the Red Rose of Lancaster) is instead the Keldor Triple Rose, which unites the Red Rose of Keldor, the White Rose of Arnos, and the Black Rose of Norloch, embedded in that order.


The Kosmos Biblioth differs from the Hagia Sophia in a number of ways, including: (1) it has three, not four towers, (2) the towers are towers, not minarets, and (3) the towers are topped with, respectively, a crescent moon, a half moon, and a full moon.


2 responses to “About “Three Roses”

  1. Hamid August 28, 2017 at 12:42 pm

    when will the first book be released?

    • reichorn August 29, 2017 at 3:53 am

      Hi, Hamid!

      Well, first thing I have to do is *finish* the first book. I hope to have it done with the next year. After that, who knows? If the fates are with me, I suppose Book One might be out as soon as, say, summer of 2019.

      I find it interesting that that date strikes me as both a long time from now AND ridiculously soon…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: